Instagram, one of the most popular social media app, has all the features and options you can name. But one major feature it misses is the ability to notify you if you have been blocked by someone. Luckily, there are a few ways to find this out.
So, if you’ve recently noticed that you can’t see a specific person’s posts or stories in your Instagram feed, they may have blocked you. You can be sure about it by trying the methods we’ve shared in this guide. So read ahead and learn some ways to know if someone blocked you on Instagram.
9 Easy Ways to Know If Someone Blocked You on Instagram
Instagram doesn’t have a particular feature to check if someone has blocked you. But luckily, there are some working workarounds to know the same with ease. Here in this section, we’ve shared all the possible ways to know if someone has blocked you on Instagram:
1. Search for Their Username
The first and easiest way to know if someone has blocked you on Instagram is to search for their username or account on Instagram and see if they appear in the search results. If the person’s profile appears in the search results, it means they haven’t blocked you.
But if the profile doesn’t appear in the results, it means they’ve blocked you, and you can’t message them. Also, note that it may be possible that they’ve changed the account’s username.
2. Check Instagram’s Website
If the user’s profile doesn’t appear in the search results, then we suggest you check their profile on Instagram’s web version in your phone’s or PC’s web browser. But, for that, you must remember the Instagram username of the person who you suspect has blocked you.
So open the browser on your device, and copy-paste the below URL in the search. Also, replace “username” in the below URL with the specific person’s username and then press Enter to access the person’s profile in your web browser to know if they’ve blocked you.
If their Instagram profile opens in the web browser after pressing Enter, then it means they haven’t blocked you. But in case you see the “Sorry, this page isn’t available” message on the next page, then it means either they’ve blocked or changed the username. Else, it could be possible that they’ve temporarily deleted their Instagram account.
3. Search for Their Profile Through a Mutual Friend
If you can’t find their profile in the Instagram app and its web version by searching for them, you can ask your mutual friend to search for their username on Instagram. In case your mutual friend finds their profile in the app, it means they’ve blocked you. But if the other person can’t also see their Instagram profile, then they’ve deactivated the account.
If the person you thought has blocked you ever commented on your Instagram posts, then scan all your posts and look for their comments. Once found, open their profile from the comments and check whether the user’s profile opens.
If yes, then they haven’t blocked you. In case this isn’t the case, you’ll see a “User not found” message on your device’s screen. At the same time, you’ll also see their profile picture, number of posts, etc.
5. Check Your Direct Messages With the Person
One way to check if someone has blocked you on Instagram is by checking the messages you’ve exchanged with them. Instagram doesn’t delete the chat with the person, even if they block you. You can follow the below-mentioned steps to know how to do this:
1. Open the Instagram app on your device and click/tap the Chat icon in the top right corner of it.
2. Once you’re in the Chat section, search for the profile or person who you think has blocked you.
3. Open the chat, and then click on the username at the top to view the profile of the person.
4. If you can see the user’s profile with all the posts, it means you’re still not blocked by them.
6. Use Another Instagram Account or Device
If you have a second Instagram account that isn’t linked to the same phone number and email as your previous one, you can use it to find out if a particular person has blocked you. To check this, simply sign in to the second account and search for their username using search. If the account appears in the search, it means they have blocked your account.
7. Try Tagging or Mentioning the User
Another easy method to know if a particular person has blocked you on Instagram is by tagging them in posts, stories, reels, and other content forms. If you can find their profile or account while mentioning them, then it means you aren’t blocked from their side, and you can message them, view their story, like and comment on their uploads, etc.
If you’re in an Instagram group with the person you think has blocked you, then you can quickly find out the possibility of being blocked from the same. To find this out, open the group chat and then open its settings by clicking the group name at the top.
If you see the user’s name in the Members section, then you aren’t blocked. In case you’re sure that the person is in the group, but you can’t see them in the same section, it means you’re blocked.
9. Follow the Same Account Again
If the person you suspect shows up in the search results without any of the latest posts and photos, then consider following them again. If you can follow them without any issues, then it means they haven’t blocked you. But if they’ve blocked you, you won’t be able to follow them.
What Happens When Someone Blocks You on Instagram?
When someone blocks you on Instagram, you don’t see their username in the search results. Also, if you access their profile, you get the “User not found” message at the bottom.
How to Know if Someone Deactivated Their Instagram or Blocked You?
If your friend can view the same account on Instagram that you think has blocked you, then it may be possible that they have blocked you. In case they can’t also see the user’s profile in the search results on Instagram, then they may have temporarily deactivated the account.
Can I See Who Blocked Me on Instagram?
Instagram doesn’t have a specific feature or option to easily see the blocked users in one place.
Can You Still See Someone’s Instagram if They Block You?
Sadly, you can’t officially see who blocked you on Instagram. You need to try different methods to find out the list of user accounts that blocked you on Instagram for any reason.
Who Viewed My Instagram?
Instagram doesn’t come with a dedicated feature to check who viewed your Instagram profile.
Easily Know If Someone Blocked You on Instagram
So these are some great ways to know if someone blocked you on Instagram. Notably, Instagram doesn’t let you know who blocked you from their side. But there are some simple tips and tricks that you can use to find out the same.
Here in this guide, we talked about all the possible methods in detail. We hope the methods we shared helped you know who blocked you on Instagram. At last, let us know which method worked for you.